TWO TYPES OF RELATIONSHIPS, CLOSE AND DISTANT


ISAIAH 40-11I was sitting around and relationships came to mind. After some thought, I came up with the conclusion that there are two types of relationships. There are close relationships and distant relationships. Out of the two types of relationships, most would prefer a close relationship over a distant relationship. Close relationships involves communication and spending time together. Distant relationships also involves communication, but do to the distance and separation spending time together is usually less.

That type of relationship usually doesn’t last long. I remember when I first met my wife we spent a lot of time together. If we weren’t together in person we were on the phone together so much that my mother would say, you two are going to get tired of each other real quick. I’m sure my mother-n-law at that time was probably thinking the same thing. Like most new relationships, the purpose of spending time together was to get to know each other. We were trying to get to know each others thought process and basically trying to learn one another. We were like most people trying to see if we had common interest that would sustain a relationship. See without spending time with someone its hard to really get to know them. It doesn’t necessarily have to be a dating relationship. It could be building a friendship with someone.

So most of us when we start a relationship of any type we do the above which is spending a lot of time with the other person. Now lets take the relationship thought to another level. In the Bible there were some amazing relationships. David was considered to be a man after Gods own heart. Jonathan and David love each other as themselves. 1 Samuel 18:3-4-And Jonathan made a covenant with David because he loved him as himself. Jonathan took off the robe he was wearing and gave it to David, along with his tunic, and even his sword, his bow and his belt. Then there was the relationship Jesus had with Lazarus, and his sisters. John 11:5-Jesus loved Martha and her sister and Lazarus. Jesus was so close to Lazarus that when he found out Lazarus was dead, in verse 35,the Bible says we wept. Lets take a look at one last verse before I get to my point. Mark 9:2 After six days Jesus took Peter,James, and John with him and led them up a high mountain, where they were all alone. There he was transfigured before them. Out of the twelve disciples, Jesus only took the three he was close to.

So here is the question? How is your relationship with those around you? More importantly, how is your relationship with Christ? Out of the two types of relationships described above, which is it, or closer to? Close or Distant? Is there invested time spent with him or is there something in your life that causes separation? This is something for us all to think about! The good news though is that it’s pretty easy to get from distant to close. It only requires spending time with him. Christ wants to be where you are. Do you want to be where he is? Where Christ is there’s Peace, Joy and Love.

I pray that as you go through this journey called life that you pursue a relationship with Christ as aggressive as you pursue relationships with others. I also pray that draw closer to him like never before.

I can’t miss this opportunity so if your reading this now and you don’t have a relationship with the Lord please don’t exit before doing so because Jesus wants to do something that you can’t do yourself and that is save you. If your willing to allow Jesus to become your personal savior say this prayer. Pray Lord I confess with my mouth that you are Lord and believe in my heart that you rose from the dead for my sins. I ask for forgiveness of my sins and ask that you come into my heart teaching me and guiding me in the way that I should live in Jesus name I pray Amen!!! If you said this prayer and you meant it from your heart you are now saved by the blood of Jesus!!
JOHN 1-18

May the Lord speak to you this day through the video below!!! Enjoy!!




4 thoughts on “TWO TYPES OF RELATIONSHIPS, CLOSE AND DISTANT

  1. Pingback: Reclaiming Friendship Love « Single White Christian

  2. A simple, but important concept. I believe that sometimes we think we have a close relstionship in some area of our lives only to find out at some point that it is really more of a distant relationship. Maybe because we haven’t invested time and interest to make it close. The dividends that close relationships pay out are well worth the investment of time and work to build them.

    Like

Leave a comment