WHY IS IT IMPORTANT TO SHARE THE GOSPEL?


Speaking about the Gospel of Jesus Christ in today’s society with all the negative pressure of talking about religion can sometimes be hard to do.  A lot of believers are afraid to mention anything about Christ because of the fear of not knowing how someone would receive it or how it may affect them depending on where they are at. I can remember a time when I wasn’t as comfortable with talking about Christ with others when I might have heard them speak something totally opposite of what God teaches us in his word. I didn’t have the courage at that time to say anything.  As I grew in my faith one day I heard someone talk about things that was not of God in a work setting.  As I was sitting there listening I hadn’t planned on saying anything but all of a sudden I heard God speak to my heart. God said are you going to just sit back and let them live in untruth maybe not knowing the truth or are you going to enlighten them on the truth.  As I sat there nervous with my heart pounding I began to share the Gospel with my lips. By the time I was done I was a little emotional because it was as if God was testing me and I felt like I had passed that test.  The person began to look at scriptures and began to look at life through God eyes. What they had heard had all come from Tv and not through searching Gods word for themselves. I sit here now saying what if I would have never said anything and they never heard the truth. Would I one day be standing before God explaining this fear of not sharing his truth.

Before we get into some scriptures on this I would like to share one more story.  About four months ago I was at the gym working out and ran across I guy I knew through my wife whose daughter goes to school with my son.  We always speak and always talk about getting our families together sometime. Well while we were at the gym talking I mentioned somethings God had done in my life. Forty minutes later we were still talking about God.  I invited him out to my mens bible study and he has come out three weeks in a row and I have began to watch him grow closer in his relationship with the Lord.  So the question is do we have the duty of sharing the gospel and how important is it? Well lets take a little journey through the bible where we will find the answer to these questions through scriptures.

Acts 11:20-21

Some of them, however, men from Cyprus and Cyrene, went to Antioch and began to speak to Greeks also, telling them the good news about the Lord Jesus. The Lord’s hand was with them, and a great number of people believed and turned to the Lord.  God’s word is for every one no matter where they are from.

Acts 13:42-44

As Paul and Barnabas were leaving the synagogue, the people invited them to speak further, about these things on the next Sabbath.  When the congregation was dismissed, many of the Jews and devout converts to Judaism followed Paul and Barnabas, who talked with them and urged them to continue in the grace of God.  On the next Sabbath almost the whole city gathered to hear the word of the Lord. This verse is so important to understand because even though they were Jews they desired to know more about Christ and his word which only could come through them hearing it.

Acts 17:32-34 NIV

When they heard about the resurrection of the dead, some of them sneered, but others said, “We want to hear you again on this subject.” At that, Paul left the Council. Some of the people became followers of Paul and believed. Among them was Dionysius, a member of the Areopagus, also a woman named Damaris, and a number of others. Paul preached to everyone but only some believed.  If only one person would have believed Paul had done his job. If Paul would have decided not to. Those who didn’t know about Christ would have remained lost in sin. Those who believed was thankful that Paul stepped out in boldness because it brought them to the Lord.

Acts 18:9-11 NIV One night the Lord spoke to Paul in a vision: “Do not be afraid; keep on speaking, do not be silent. For I am with you, and no one is going to attack and harm you, because I have many people in this city.” So Paul stayed in Corinth for a year and a half, teaching them the word of God. There are so many who have not heard the word who don’t believe. But if they heard it they would believe and God knew this when he stated I have many people in this city. So there are so many out there who are waiting for you to share the Gospel with them so they can believe and have eternal life. So it’s time to get to work, make today your day to spread his word.

Romans 10:17

Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word of Christ. Through your sharing of the gospel others can begin to learn more about Christ and build their faith which only comes from hearing his word.

Ephesians 6:17

Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. As we share the gospel with those who don’t know Christ or those who are weak in their faith we through sharing his word can help equipt them with the armor that they need to fight the daily battles that we all go through.

Hebrew 6:10/12:15

6:10- God is not unjust; he will not forget your work and the love you have shown him as you have helped his people and continue to help them. This is very encouraging knowing that God will not forget what we do here  on Earth as we encourage others through his word.

12:15- See to it that no one misses the grace of God and that no bitter root grows up to cause trouble and defile many. God says no one so that one person who may be reaching out to you or you might encounter might need to hear his encouraging word and you might be the person that they need to hear it from. The question is are you going to step out and share him?

I will leave you with this last verse as you step out in his name.

1 Peter 3:15

But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord.  Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have.  But do this with gentleness and respect. When you share the Gospel with those who don’t believe do it in love~~~!!!!

I pray that God gives us the courage to share his word with those who don’t know him and with those who maybe struggling in their walk with him. I also pray that if someone who reads this blog doesn’t have a relationship with you, that they ask you to forgive them of their sins and confess with their mouth that you are Lord and believe in their heart that God raised you from the dead and that they be saved in Jesus name I pray Amen.

His love never fails!!!! Enjoy the encouraging video as it get you through your day!!!!!

[Sharing the GospelJesus on the Cross

Leave a Reply

