TWO ARE BETTER THAN ONE


Iron sharpens IronWhy do we sometimes under-estimate the importance of two? I remember growing up watching my mother; raise me and my siblings all alone and how difficult it was for her. I also remember watching my mother-n-law work extra hours to provide for her daughters. That also was a difficult task for her. I then think about me and my family. It’s so much easier on me and my wife because there are two of us to share the load. I can remember several other times were this come into play. I remember purchasing our barbecue grill and half way through putting it together I got to the part in the instruction manual that stated, “In order to complete the next task, you need two people. So I had to wait to complete it with help. I remember purchasing a basketball goal for our children and after getting it assembled I needed help lifting it up and pushing it up the driveway. I tried doing it by myself but I couldn’t do it without any help. I remember just last night my wife getting into bed before me. It was cold and she said hurry up and get into bed because it was cold. When I got into bed it was warm and more comfortable for her. Then along those lines just think about how we are made. In most cases, we are born with two arms, two feet, two eyes, two ears, two hands and two legs. By having two it makes life a little easier than someone with only one of each.

There are just times when we can’t do things on our own and we just need help. Sometimes we are afraid of asking others for help for many reasons. It could be because of pride or because of rejection. We must put those issues aside and be willing to allow others to help us in our time of need and as we face storms and battles. Ecclesiastes 4:9-12-Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work. If one falls down, his friends can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up! Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm. But how can one keep warm alone? (This is Funny like me and my wife). Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.

As I sit here and write I thought even from the beginning God felt that way. Genesis 2:18-The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him”. Proverbs 27:17 New International Version (NIV) 17 As iron sharpens iron,so one person sharpens another. So God also agrees with this principle.

Exodus 17:12-14 New International Version (NIV)12 When Moses’ hands grew tired, they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it. Aaron and Hur held his hands up—one on one side, one on the other—so that his hands remained steady till sunset. 13 So Joshua overcame the Amalekite army with the sword.Moses and Aaron

So I encourage you never to go into battle alone, and never be too prideful to ask for help when you need it!!!

I pray that as you go through this journey called life when you begin to experience the ups and downs that comes with it. That you never lose site of the fact that if you have a relationship with the Lord in the end Jesus wins and because of that you also win.

I can’t miss this opportunity so if your reading this now and you don’t have a relationship with the Lord please don’t exit before doing so because Jesus wants to do something that you can’t do yourself and that is save you. If your willing to allow Jesus to become your personal savior say this prayer. Pray Lord I confess with my mouth that you are Lord and believe in my heart that you rose from the dead for my sins. I ask for forgiveness of my sins and ask that you come into my heart teaching me and guiding me in the way that I should live in Jesus name I pray Amen!!! If you said this prayer and you meant it from your heart you are now saved by the blood of Jesus!!

6 thoughts on “TWO ARE BETTER THAN ONE

  1. Two certainly are better than one. This was one of the Scriptures we had read at our wedding. Whenever I read it, I am reminded of a commentary I came across awhile back that suggested that the “cord of three strands” can represent you, your spouse, and God. When you have those three intertwined, the result is an unbreakable bond!

    Like

Leave a Reply

