THE POWER OF CONSISTENT PRAYER


I tried to scale back this writing as much as I could because my wife said sometimes they are long. And of course that made me think others may think the same thing. When I tried to do that, God said to me write what I give you not taking anything away or adding anything to it. So I have no choice but to write what he put on my heart no matter what. I pray that those who take the time out to read this receive something from it like I did.

How much power does prayer really have? Sometimes I feel like we underestimate the power that comes along with it. Sometimes our prayers are not answered for many reasons. Some of those reasons are because we pray for selfish reasons that are not in Gods will so they are not answered. Sometimes it’s because we are inconsistent with our prayers. Sometimes it’s because we pray but truly don’t believe in our hearts what we are praying about. When we pray the right way with a clean heart praying according to Gods will, then our prayers have major impact and miraculous power. I can remember when my kids and wife were begging me for a dog. I told them that I didn’t want a dog because I didn’t want to have to be the one in the end taking care of it. I was very adamant about not getting one. I can remember hearing them begin to pray at night about this dog and it was funny because I was thinking my mind is set. After several months of them consistently praying my heart completely changed. We eventually got a Boston terrier named Oreo who we have had for 4 years now and I love that dog with all my heart. The first thing my kids said to me after we bought him was dad prayer really does work. All I could do was smile.

One thing I believe we as people don’t do is pray like that consistently about our issues. When I look into the Bible there are so many amazing stories about the power of prayer. Jesus the only perfect person who ever walked this Earth was always praying and willing to submit himself to the Father. So why are we not willing to submit ourselves? Jesus knew prayer changed things that’s why we told his disciples three times, pray that you do not fall into temptation. Jesus knew that the only way they could face or conquer what ever temptation they were facing was through constant prayer that’s why he stressed it three times. There are several scriptures that encourage us to pray and show us just how powerful prayer can be when we do it consistently.

Genesis 25:21- Isaac prayed to the Lord on behalf of his wife, because she was childless. The Lord answered his prayer, and his wife Rebekah became pregnant. It was through his prayer that God gave him what he wished.

2 Samuel 24:25- David built an altar to the Lord there and sacrificed burnt offerings and fellowship offerings. Then the Lord answered his prayer on his behalf of the land, and the plague on Israel was stopped. God answers prayers!!!!

1 Kings 13:6- Then the king said to the man of God, “Intercede with the LORD your God and pray for me that my hand may be restored.” So the man of God interceded with the LORD, and the king’s hand was restored and became as it was before

Psalm 102:17- He will respond to the prayer of the destitute; he will not despise their plea.

Isaiah 38:5- “Go and tell Hezekiah, ‘This is what the LORD, the God of your father David, says: I have heard your prayer and seen your tears; I will add fifteen years to your life.

Matthew 21:22- If you believe you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.

Romans 12:12- Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.

There are so many more verses like this that show us and encourages us to pray. The bible says in the Book of Acts that God heard Cornelius prayer and remembered his gifts. Some of the sick were healed because of consistent prayer. Jesus disciples asked Jesus why they couldn’t drive out the demon in the young boy and Jesus said “This kind can come out only by prayer. The bible says that the church was praying earnestly for Peter while he was in jail and he was set free.

So in order for us to see things change in our lives and in the world and see miracles like those above we have to do three things. 1. Thessalonians 5:17 (pray continually or pray without ceasing). 2. Philippians 2:21 for everyone looks out for his own interest, not those of Jesus Christ. James 4:2-3 you want something but don’t get it. You kill and covet, but you cannot have what you want. You quarrel and fight. You don’t have, because you don’t ask God. When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with the wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures. (We have to start praying Gods will). 3. James 1:6 but when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. (We must believe that God answers prayers). When we begin to do these three things, we will receive what God has for our families, our communities, our counties, our state, our country and finally our world.

I will leave you with these verses to pounder on. James 5:13-17- Is any one of you in trouble? He should pray. Is anyone happy? Let him sing songs of praise. Is any one of you sick? He should call the elders of the church to pray over him and anoint him with oil in the name of the Lord. And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise him up. If he has sinned, he will be forgiven. Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective. Elijah was a man just like us. He prayed earnestly that it would not rain, and it did not rain on the land for three and a half years. Again he prayed, and the heavens gave rain, and the earth produced its crops.

Lord I pray that we your people get back to praying without ceasing, praying believing and praying to do your will and not our own praying expecting a miracle. Lord I also pray that who ever read this blog who is struggling with praying, that you encourage them and walk with them and I pray that if someone who reads this doesn’t have a relationship with you, that they ask you to forgive them of their sins and confess with their mouth that you are Lord and believe in their heart that God raised you from the dead and that they be saved in Jesus name I pray Amen.
407146_105274922822317_1839544976_n prayer

7 thoughts on “THE POWER OF CONSISTENT PRAYER

Leave a Reply

