SOMETIMES WHEN GOD SAYS NO IT MEANS NEVER AND (SOMETIMES IT MEANS NOT NOW)


Psalms 84 11Sometimes when God says no it means never and sometimes it just means not now at this moment. Either way it’s not always easy to deal with or even understand. I know exactly what that feels like. I’ve studied so hard and have done everything I possibly can in order to receive a promotion in my career. I’ve interviewed two times for a promotion and after every-time receiving a letter saying they decided to go with someone else, I’ve gone back asking what is it that I need to do to accomplish my goal. So like most people looking to accomplish a goal I did exactly what was asked. When I found out I was selected for a third interview I just knew that it was my time. My time because it was try number three and because I did what was requested of me. I walked in the interview confident not in myself but confident in knowing that God knew I’ve done all that I could do and that he knew that I really wanted this promotion, a new challenge and to accomplish a goal I set out 12 years ago.

Well yesterday after almost a month of waiting to find out the results I found out that once again I didn’t get this promotion. My emotions began to take over and I began to feel different emotions. I felt angry, rejected, sad, and disappointed because I would once again for the third time now have to tell my family who has been excited for me that once again I didn’t get it. As I drove home I was asking God many things and yes I can honestly say with an angry tone. Then I was reminded that sometimes God tells us no to certain things for our benefit and sometimes he says no not now, but that doesn’t mean never.

Moses and the Israelite’s asked Pharaoh several times to let them go but he said no, but he eventually let them go in Gods timing. I remembered that Moses wanted to go into the promise land, but God said no and just because God said no didn’t mean that we didn’t care about or love Moses. I was reminded that the Levites didn’t receive the same inheritance that everyone else did but instead received something greater.

Numbers 18:23-24 (NIV)

23 It is the Levites who are to do the work at the tent of meeting and bear the responsibility for any offenses they commit against it. This is a lasting ordinance for the generations to come. They will receive no inheritance among the Israelites. 24 Instead, I give to the Levites as their inheritance the tithes that the Israelites present as an offering to the Lord. That is why I said concerning them: ‘They will have no inheritance among the Israelites.’”

I was reminded about the time the Pharisees asked Jesus for a sign but he didn’t give them one.

Matthew 12:38 (NIV)
38 Then some of the Pharisees and teachers of the law said to him, “Teacher, we want to see a sign from you.”

I was reminded that Paul went through his storm in order to advance the gospel and then I thought could this situation that I’ve endured be for that same purpose. A purpose bigger than myself?

Philippians 1:12 (NIV)
12 Now I want you to know, brothers and sisters, that what has happened to me has actually served to advance the gospel.

And then I was reminded that the rejection feeling that I felt wasn’t one of Christ because he said that I have chosen you and not rejected you and instead one that Satan was trying to plant.

Isaiah 41:9 (NIV)

9 I took you from the ends of the earth, from its farthest corners I called you. I said, ‘You are my servant’; I have chosen you and have not rejected you.

Then I was reminded that this give me an opportunity to show my children how to deal with adversity and reminded me of GODS promise, that he withhold no good thing from those who walk blameless and that his plan is to prosper me and give me hope and a future.

Psalm 84:11(NIV)

11 For the Lord God is a sun and shield; the Lord bestows favor and honor; no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless.

Jeremiah 29:11(NIV)

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

So this morning I stand on all GODS promises because I know that our Gods word is true and that he is a God that doesn’t lie. I know that what I may think is good for me God says what I have for you is 10 times better than what you desire for yourself so just hold on, steadfast and watch me move as you continue to trust me. This is my story!!

I pray that you know what God has for us is better than what we have or hope for ourselves and that when you encounter a no from God doesn’t always mean no, but sometimes it just means not now.

PRAYING AT THE COVE

When You don’t move the mountains I’m needing You to move
When You don’t part the waters I wish I could walk through
When You don’t give the answers as I cry out to You
I will trust, I will trust, I will trust in You!

2 thoughts on “SOMETIMES WHEN GOD SAYS NO IT MEANS NEVER AND (SOMETIMES IT MEANS NOT NOW)

Leave a Reply

