DEVOTIONAL DAY #13 BLESSED BY PRAYING FOR THE SINS OF OUR (ANCESTORS)


Daniel 9 9

Scripture Reading: Nehemiah 1:5-7, Daniel 9:20-23(NIV)

Nehemiah 1:5-7(NIV)

5 Then I said:

“Lord, the God of heaven, the great and awesome God, who keeps his covenant of love with those who love him and keep his commandments, 6 let your ear be attentive and your eyes open to hear the prayer your servant is praying before you day and night for your servants, the people of Israel. I confess the sins we Israelites, including myself and my father’s family, have committed against you. 7 We have acted very wickedly toward you. We have not obeyed the commands, decrees and laws you gave your servant Moses.

Key Verses: Nehemiah 1:6(NIV)

6 let your ear be attentive and your eyes open to hear the prayer your servant is praying before you day and night for your servants, the people of Israel. I confess the sins we Israelites, including myself and my father’s family, have committed against you.

So many of us have things from our past that haunts us not only today but has haunted our families from past generations. Some of these things could have us so deep in bondage that we can’t see a way out of it. Prayer is always the most powerful tool we can use to free us from these bondage’s that have been holding us back for sometime.
As I was reading the scriptures above I noticed something that I’ve never done before that I believe is so profound that could not only bless me and my future generation, but also bless you and your’s.

Here it is!!!!! I’ve never prayed for the sins my ancestors have committed against God. Nehemiah took the time out not only to pray for his sins and current generation sins, but also for the past generations sins and he wasn’t the only one.

Daniel 9:20-23(NIV)

20 While I was speaking and praying, confessing my sin and the sin of my people Israel and making my request to the Lord my God for his holy hill— 21 while I was still in prayer, Gabriel, the man I had seen in the earlier vision, came to me in swift flight about the time of the evening sacrifice. 22 He instructed me and said to me, “Daniel, I have now come to give you insight and understanding. 23 As soon as you began to pray, a word went out, which I have come to tell you, for you are highly esteemed. Therefore, consider the word and understand the vision.

As you can see Nehemiah and Daniel were both blessed after they prayed with an open heart for the sins of their ancestors. I believe we will also be blessed when we cry out to God repenting for the sins of our ancestors impacting not only our current generation but our future generations. I also believe that when we do that the old bondage’s that have haunted our families will be broken. So let’s get to praying!!!

Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions and also the transgressions of my ancestors. Wash away all the iniquities of my ancestors from my generation and generations to come in Jesus name Amen!!!!

Daniel 9 8
NEHEMIAH

Leave a Reply

