DEVOTIONAL DAY # 2 SET APART AND ANGRY?


Jeremiah 1 5

Scripture Reading: Leviticus 20:26, Numbers 8:14 (NIV)
Key Verses: Jeremiah 1:5, Psalms 4:3 (NIV)

Have you ever felt like you were different from everyone and that you didn’t fit in with those around you? You tried to fit in by trying to be like them by faking it but you still felt a sense of something missing or when you did get to be with them you didn’t truly enjoy the company because you couldn’t be your-self or maybe because they looked at you differently? But deep down inside you know that God chose you and set you apart from birth and sometimes just knowing that has made you angry. I myself know that feeling and I have watch my children experience being set apart and it hasn’t always been easy for them and has sometimes made them angry because having to turn something loose like a friendship because of it. God’s word shows us that we are not alone and that we can over come the feeling of anger and instead turn it into a feeling of honor. Jeremiah the prophet knew exactly what it felt like to be set apart and the feelings that sometimes come with it.

Jeremiah 1:5 (NIV)
5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

Jeremiah had his up and downs but he embraced the role God placed on him and he benefited from it. The Israelites like Jeremiah also knew what it felt like to be called to be apart of something greater than themselves and the Levites did as well because they were set apart twice. Once from all the other nations and once from all the other Israelites.

Leviticus 20:26 New International Version (NIV)

26 You are to be holy to me because I, the Lord, am holy, and I have set you apart from the nations to be my own.

Numbers 8:14 New International Version (NIV)

14 In this way you are to set the Levites apart from the other Israelites, and the Levites will be mine.

If you sometimes feel angry, alone and sad because you were called by God to be set apart from this world. Just know that God is with you and that you’re not alone, but instead he has chosen you to be apart something special, something that is far more greater than you and I. Also know that he hears you when you call out to him and that he his walking with you on this path of difference. The path of BEING SET APART!!

Psalm 4:3 (NIV)
3 Know that the Lord has set apart his faithful servant for himself; the Lord hears when I call to him.

Father, forgive me when I become disappointed, angry, or sad because you called me to be set apart. Help me to feel your presence by reminding me that it is special to be SET APART by you!!

I can’t miss this opportunity so if your reading this now and you don’t have a relationship with the Lord please don’t exit before doing so because Jesus wants to do something that you can’t do yourself and that is save you. If your willing to allow Jesus to become your personal savior say this prayer. Pray Lord I confess with my mouth that you are Lord and believe in my heart that you rose from the dead for my sins. I ask for forgiveness of my sins and ask that you come into my heart teaching me and guiding me in the way that I should live in Jesus name I pray Amen!!! If you said this prayer and you meant it from your heart you are now saved by the blood of Jesus!!

psalms 4 3

Leave a Reply

