DEVOTIONAL DAY #1 WHAT ARE YOU ASKING GOD FOR?


2 chronicles
Scripture Reading: 2 Chronicles 1:7-12
Key Verse: 2 Chronicles 1:10

10 Give me wisdom and knowledge, that I may lead this people, for who is able to govern this great people of yours?”

2 Chronicles 1:7-12 New International Version (NIV)

7 That night God appeared to Solomon and said to him, “Ask for whatever you want me to give you.”

8 Solomon answered God, “You have shown great kindness to David my father and have made me king in his place. 9 Now, Lord God, let your promise to my father David be confirmed, for you have made me king over a people who are as numerous as the dust of the earth. 10 Give me wisdom and knowledge, that I may lead this people, for who is able to govern this great people of yours?”

11 God said to Solomon, “Since this is your heart’s desire and you have not asked for wealth, possessions or honor, nor for the death of your enemies, and since you have not asked for a long life but for wisdom and knowledge to govern my people over whom I have made you king, 12 therefore wisdom and knowledge will be given you. And I will also give you wealth, possessions and honor, such as no king who was before you ever had and none after you will have.”

If God presented most people with this request, “Ask for whatever you want me to give you most of us would have a long list of things already written out for him to give us that would truly benefit us. Just like that King Solomon could have easily asked God for it all but instead he was thinking outside the box of selfishness. He asked for something that could benefit others, that could be ever lasting and something that had substance. So because of his heart for others and because we was thinking outside of himself and his motive for what he was asking for was right. God not only blessed him by giving him what he asked for, he blessed him with more than what he asked for and with more than he could have ever imagined.

So what are you asking God for? Is it something that would benefit others, something with substance? Or is something that only benefits you?

We just like King Solomon can benefit when we enter the presence of our true king asking him for something that will bless and benefit others.

Lord, I first want to thank you for allowing me to be able to enter your presence to ask you for anything at all.

Dear Lord, help me to ask for things that not only benefit me, but more importantly benefit you and others.

I can’t miss this opportunity so if your reading this now and you don’t have a relationship with the Lord please don’t exit before doing so because Jesus wants to do something that you can’t do yourself and that is save you. If your willing to allow Jesus to become your personal savior say this prayer. Pray Lord I confess with my mouth that you are Lord and believe in my heart that you rose from the dead for my sins. I ask for forgiveness of my sins and ask that you come into my heart teaching me and guiding me in the way that I should live in Jesus name I pray Amen!!! If you said this prayer and you meant it from your heart you are now saved by the blood of Jesus!!

2 chronicles 7 14

One thought on “DEVOTIONAL DAY #1 WHAT ARE YOU ASKING GOD FOR?

Leave a Reply

