RECEIVING AND GIVING GRACE


GRACELast night as I was having my quite time in God’s word I had plans on continuing my study in 2 Samuel. But God shifted my direction leading me to this verse that inspired this writing. Romans 5:20 New International Version (NIV) 20 The law was brought in so that the trespass might increase. But where sin increased, grace increased all the more. This one verse prompted these four thoughts.

1-Sin will never over take, out last, or conquer grace because every time sin is increased, grace is increased double!! His grace is sufficient. We struggle sometimes even as believers with the idea that Jesus has or will forgive us of our past or present sins. So as we go through this thought process we truly don’t accept his grace completely pretending like we do, allowing Satan to use that against us causing us to become unproductive. When God says he has given us grace there is nothing we could ever do to lose it so embrace the grace he has given and accept his forgiveness.

2-What ever gift you have been given was by grace and had nothing to do with you, but God who gifted you. God has given each and every one of us a special gift by his grace but sometimes we walk around like it’s because of something that we did taking all the credit. Not only do we take the credit but we use our gift for our own selfish reasons instead of using it truly for the reason he has gifted it to us which is to advance his kingdom.

1 Peter 4:10 New International Version (NIV)

10 Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.

3-If Jesus is willing to extend us grace without cost. Then who do we think we are when we refuse to give it or demand something for it? Holy? God extends us this grace but we refuse to extend it to others. We walk around with the attitude that in order for someone to be extended grace by us they need to work for it. This touched me deep when I thought about my wife, children, family, friends and co-workers because I know I have at times refused to extend grace. It’s true to say in this list of people I felt at least once rejected, lonely, unappreciated, angry, disrespected, hurt, disappointed, not important unsupported unloved and I could go on with emotions that I’ve felt. But these feelings alone didn’t or doesn’t give me the right not to extend them grace. Here is the kicker and after reading this you may agree with me!!! I know I have more than once made Jesus feel lonely, unappreciated, rejected, angry, disappointed, disrespected, hurt, not important, unsupported and unloved but because he love me so much through it all he still extends me grace. Why? Because his love runs deeper than that. So if our heavenly father who is holy is willing to extend grace then so should we. God said to me this night that my love for my wife, children, family, friends and co-workers and others should run so deep that nothing that they could ever do should keep me from extending grace to them and neither should anything someone do to you.

Hebrews 12:15 New International Version (NIV)

15 See to it that no one falls short of the grace of God and that no bitter root grows up to cause trouble and defile many.

4-Extending someone grace is not a form of weakness but a sign of strength so stop believing Satan’s lies. So many times I have wanted to extend grace but Satan would whisper into my ear saying if you do that you are giving in and showing that you’re weak. But God says that is further from the truth so I come to you this day letting you know that the next time Satan whisper that lie into your ear like he has mine. Tell him he is a liar and go extend that grace and when you do not only will you experience true strength but those you extend it to will also see it!!!

2 Corinthians 12:9 New International Version (NIV)

9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

If giving grace is a struggle for you just know it not to late you still can grow in grace!!

2 Peter 3:18 New International Version (NIV)

18 But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and forever! Amen.

I pray that as you go through this journey called life that you accept Gods grace and that you like Jesus extend grace to those around you. I also want you to know that if you have a relationship with the Lord in the end Jesus wins and because of that you also win.

I can’t miss this opportunity so if your reading this now and you don’t have a relationship with the Lord please don’t exit before doing so because Jesus wants to do something that you can’t do yourself and that is save you. If your willing to allow Jesus to become your personal savior say this prayer. Pray Lord I confess with my mouth that you are Lord and believe in my heart that you rose from the dead for my sins. I ask for forgiveness of my sins and ask that you come into my heart teaching me and guiding me in the way that I should live in Jesus name I pray Amen!!! If you said this prayer and you meant it from your heart you are now saved by the blood of Jesus!!
I encourage you to listen to the song below because it will bless you!!

Grace for Gods people




2 thoughts on “RECEIVING AND GIVING GRACE

  1. Pingback: Give Us Today - Lord's Prayer Matt 6:11-12 - praisequotes.com

Leave a Reply

