WHEN TAKING MATTERS INTO YOUR OWN HANDS CAUSES PAIN


1 PETER 5-7Have you ever attempted to fix a problem for someone else or thought that they wanted something and you ended up being wrong? You really thought you were helping but later realized that you only made the problem worse for your-self or them? Well I’ve experienced that several times in my life. I can remember a time listening to my wife tell me some difficult things she was dealing with at work. I can remember thinking to myself while she was talking how I could fix her situation. What do you think I did after finding out the difficulties she was having at work? Well I went to her boss and addressed the situation thinking that’s what she wanted failing to realize she still had to work there. Well it did change somethings, but it also made my wife uncomfortable at work. She also let me know she only wanted me to listen and not try to save the day. Has this ever happened to you? Our intent maybe well but sometimes we need to just sit back and let things run its course because God’s in control. Problems like this doesn’t only exist today but it existed way before our time way back into the bible days. In the Book on Samuel we see this play out more than once. Follow along as I break these scriptures down.

2 Samuel 3:12-18 New International Version (NIV)

12 Then Abner sent messengers on his behalf to say to David, “Whose land is it? Make an agreement with me, and I will help you bring all Israel over to you.”

13 “Good,” said David. “I will make an agreement with you. But I demand one thing of you: Do not come into my presence unless you bring Michal daughter of Saul when you come to see me.” 14 Then David sent messengers to Ish-Bosheth son of Saul, demanding, “Give me my wife Michal, whom I betrothed to myself for the price of a hundred Philistine foreskins.”

15 So Ish-Bosheth gave orders and had her taken away from her husband Paltiel son of Laish. 16 Her husband, however, went with her, weeping behind her all the way to Bahurim. Then Abner said to him, “Go back home!” So he went back.

17 Abner conferred with the elders of Israel and said, “For some time you have wanted to make David your king. 18 Now do it! For the Lord promised David, ‘By my servant David I will rescue my people Israel from the hand of the Philistines and from the hand of all their enemies.’”

In the verses above King David and Abner agreed that if Abner gave him Michal to be is wife then Abner would go away in peace and Abner would encourage all of Israel to make David King. Ish-Bosheth who is mentioned above was the son of King Saul and was very close with Abner. Abner prior to this chapter had killed the brother of Joab one of David leaders because he refused to stop following him. When Joab finds out about David’s agreement to allow Abner to live in peace he wasn’t happy so he decided to take matters into his own hands against the kings knowledge.

2 Samuel 3:23-27 New International Version (NIV)

23 When Joab and all the soldiers with him arrived, he was told that Abner son of Ner had come to the king and that the king had sent him away and that he had gone in peace.

24 So Joab went to the king and said, “What have you done? Look, Abner came to you. Why did you let him go? Now he is gone! 25 You know Abner son of Ner; he came to deceive you and observe your movements and find out everything you are doing.”

26 Joab then left David and sent messengers after Abner, and they brought him back from the cistern at Sirah. But David did not know it. 27 Now when Abner returned to Hebron, Joab took him aside into an inner chamber, as if to speak with him privately. And there, to avenge the blood of his brother Asahel, Joab stabbed him in the stomach, and he died.

Joab as you can see took things into his own hands and it ended up affecting many people. Ish-Bosheth (King Saul’s son) became afraid for his own life after found out what happened to Abner thinking King David had him killed. (His fear caused those around him to become fearful) and two of his men decided just like Joab to take things into their own hands.

2 Samuel 4 New International Version (NIV)

4 When Ish-Bosheth son of Saul heard that Abner had died in Hebron, he lost courage, and all Israel became alarmed. 2 Now Saul’s son had two men who were leaders of raiding bands. One was named Baanah and the other Rekab; they were sons of Rimmon the Beerothite from the tribe of Benjamin—Beeroth is considered part of Benjamin, 3 because the people of Beeroth fled to Gittaim and have resided there as foreigners to this day.

4 (Jonathan son of Saul had a son who was lame in both feet. He was five years old when the news about Saul and Jonathan came from Jezreel. His nurse picked him up and fled, but as she hurried to leave, he fell and became disabled. His name was Mephibosheth.)

5 Now Rekab and Baanah, the sons of Rimmon the Beerothite, set out for the house of Ish-Bosheth, and they arrived there in the heat of the day while he was taking his noonday rest. 6 They went into the inner part of the house as if to get some wheat, and they stabbed him in the stomach. Then Rekab and his brother Baanah slipped away.

7 They had gone into the house while he was lying on the bed in his bedroom. After they stabbed and killed him, they cut off his head. Taking it with them, they traveled all night by way of the Arabah. 8 They brought the head of Ish-Bosheth to David at Hebron and said to the king, “Here is the head of Ish-Bosheth son of Saul, your enemy, who tried to kill you. This day the Lord has avenged my lord the king against Saul and his offspring.”

9 David answered Rekab and his brother Baanah, the sons of Rimmon the Beerothite, “As surely as the Lord lives, who has delivered me out of every trouble, 10 when someone told me, ‘Saul is dead,’ and thought he was bringing good news, I seized him and put him to death in Ziklag. That was the reward I gave him for his news! 11 How much more—when wicked men have killed an innocent man in his own house and on his own bed—should I not now demand his blood from your hand and rid the earth of you!”

12 So David gave an order to his men, and they killed them. They cut off their hands and feet and hung the bodies by the pool in Hebron. But they took the head of Ish-Bosheth and buried it in Abner’s tomb at Hebron.

These two men Rekab and Baanah thought that if they killed Ish-Bosheth and brought his head to King David that would make him proud and their lives would be spared. That wasn’t the case and they ended up being killed because they killed and innocent man. They took matters into their own hands thinking King David wanted him dead and it cost them.

What are somethings in your life that you have dealt with on your own that has caused you pain? God just might be trying to tell you to place them on his shoulders giving it all to him!!!

Psalm 55:22 New International Version (NIV)

22 Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken.

1 Peter 5:7 New International Version (NIV)

7 Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

I pray that as you go through this journey called life that you place all of your struggles and burdens on Jesus shoulders and that you never lose site of the fact, that if you have a relationship with the Lord in the end Jesus wins and because of that you also win.

I can’t miss this opportunity so if your reading this now and you don’t have a relationship with the Lord please don’t exit before doing so because Jesus wants to do something that you can’t do yourself and that is save you. If your willing to allow Jesus to become your personal savior say this prayer. Pray Lord I confess with my mouth that you are Lord and believe in my heart that you rose from the dead for my sins. I ask for forgiveness of my sins and ask that you come into my heart teaching me and guiding me in the way that I should live in Jesus name I pray Amen!!! If you said this prayer and you meant it from your heart you are now saved by the blood of Jesus!!
I encourage you to listen to the song below because it will bless you!!

PSALMS 55-22




Leave a Reply

