THE WAR WITHIN US


WAR WITHINIn the world today as I type this there’s a war going on now at this moment. In 2001 we all know that our country came under attack that led our country into war. There are police officers across the country at war with violent criminals that want to control the society that we live in. There’s a war going on amongst friends and families and within homes. What’s even scarier than the wars I’ve mentioned though is the war we face everyday that’s within ourselves. We wage war within our hearts and minds on a daily basis by making decisions based on our flesh or our spirit. See the decisions we make either comes from our spirit or our flesh because they can’t co-exist together. The reason we know that they can’t co-exist is because Galatians 5:17 says, For the flesh desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the flesh. They are in conflict with each other, so that you are not to do whatever you want.

So that means each time we decide to act out or respond to a certain situation one of the two is either winning or losing. We fight this war within us with things like should I tell the truth or should I lie, should I steal or not steal, should I cheat on this test or shouldn’t I, should I cheat on my spouse or not, should I abandon my family or not, should I get even or not, should I forgive or not, should I take this illegal substance or not, should I have sex out of marriage or not, should I be envious or not, should I seek out things for my ambitions or not, should I gossip or not, should I spend more time with my children or not, should I spend more time in church or not. These are the type of wars within that we are dealing with on regular basis. So what’s the war within us that we are fighting? It’s a war against sin and against the powers of this dark world that causes us to feel like Paul did in Romans 7: 21-23: 21 So I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me. 22 For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; 23 but I see another law at work in me, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within me

So why is winning this war within ourselves more important than the other wars? Well it’s important because this war can not only cause physical death but spiritual death also. Matthew tells us this war is dangerous because in order for it to come out in any form it first starts in the heart and the mind. Matthew 12:34-35 For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of. 35 A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in him, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in him. Matthew 15: 18-19 But the things that come out of a person’s mouth come from the heart, and these defile them. For out of the heart come evil thoughts-murder, adultery, sexual immorality, theft, false testimony, slander. Just think if we won more daily wars within ourselves there would be fewer wars against each other and society, there also would be fewer people incarcerated, less relationships and homes destroyed, fewer people who take advantage of others and so on. From this point on our goal on a daily basis should be to come out at the end of our day with more victories than defeats when it comes to our thoughts and our actions.

Can trying to win this war be a struggle? Yes Psalm 13:2 How long must I wrestle with my thoughts and day after day have sorrow in my heart? How long will my enemy triumph over me?

So can we win this war that we face within ourselves? The answer is yes and here’s how.

Romans 8:37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.

Romans 12:2 Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

1 Corinthians 6:12 “I have the right to do anything,” you say—but not everything is beneficial. “I have the right to do anything”—(but I will not be mastered by anything).

1 Peter 5:8 Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. 9 Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings.

Hebrews 3:1 Therefore, holy brothers and sisters, who share in the heavenly calling, fix your thoughts on Jesus, whom we acknowledge as our apostle and high priest.

Just know that God loves us and Satan wants to take us out by starting with the war we face within us and know that Romans 8:5-13 says: 5 Those who live according to the flesh have their minds set on what the flesh desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires. 6 The mind governed by the flesh is death, but the mind governed by the Spirit is life and peace. 7 The mind governed by the flesh is hostile to God; it does not submit to God’s law, nor can it do so. 8 Those who are in the realm of the flesh cannot please God. Here’s the good news you can finish the rest of your day with, 2 Corinthians 10:4-5 says: 4 The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. 5 We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.

I pray Lord if someone reads this blog and they don’t know you or have a personal relationship with you and not sure of their eternal fate that they repeat this prayer of Salvation. Romans 10:9-10- 9 If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. 10 For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved.

Dear God in heaven, I come to you in the name of Jesus. I acknowledge to You that I am a sinner, and I am sorry for my sins and the life that I have lived; I need your forgiveness I believe that your only begotten Son Jesus Christ shed His precious blood on the cross at Calvary and died for my sins, and I am now willing to turn from my sin. You said in Your Holy Word, Romans 10:9 that if we confess the Lord our God and believe in our hearts that God raised Jesus from the dead, we shall be saved. Right now I confess Jesus as the Lord of my soul. With my heart, I believe that God raised Jesus from the dead. This very moment I accept Jesus Christ as my own personal Savior and according to His Word, now I am saved. Thank you Jesus for your unlimited grace which has saved me from my sins. I thank you Jesus that your grace never leads to license, but rather it always leads to repentance. Therefore Lord Jesus transform my life so that I may bring glory and honor to you alone and not to myself. Thank you Jesus for dying for me and giving me eternal life.

Amen.

One thought on “THE WAR WITHIN US

  1. Reblogged this on McSellers Thought Of The Day and commented:

    TBT Writing from July 2014 that’s so relevant for us this day. It’s time for us to start dealing with it.
    So what’s the war within us that we are fighting? Read to find out.
    ‪#‎SHARE‬ ‪#‎ITSTRULYTIMEFORAWORLDRESET‬ ‪#‎PRAYFORCHARLESTONAMC‬ ‪#‎RESETMOVEMENT2016‬

    Like

Leave a Reply

