YOU WERE BOUGHT WITH A PRICE (SO YOU ARE VALUABLE)



It’s good to know that no matter where you come from, or your family background, or if someone consider you valueless. God thinks your more than valuable, and you still can overcome anything that might have happened in your families past.

In the Bible in Genesis Jacob considered Rachel his second wife more valuable than Leah his first wife. And when most people read their story they come away devaluing Leah. But in God eyes Leah was more than worthless. God picked her third son Levi who would become a murder, tribe to be solely in charge of the priestly hood. This is a very important responsibility. No other tribe could be apart of that. The other Israelite tribes jobs were to build an army for war, while the tribe of Levi took care of the ark of the covenant, and the tabernacle. God also gave us the greatest gift from Leah’s 4th born son Judah. (Jesus) the greatest gift anyone could ever receive comes from his tribe. So we can see that Leah was more than valuable in God eyes and so are you. So lets look at some scriptures and see how Jacob considered Leah less valuable than Rachel, and how God was still able to use Levi’s descendants to be a blessing.

Jacob considers Rachel very valuable.
Genesis 29:18, 27-28 NIV

Jacob was in love with Rachel and said, “I’ll work for you seven years in return for your younger daughter Rachel.” Finish this daughter’s bridal week; then we will give you the younger one also, in return for another seven years of work.” And Jacob did so. He finished the week with Leah, and then Laban gave him his daughter Rachel to be his wife.
Now here we can see what Jacob had communicated to Laban. I can only imagine how Leah might have felt, as she watched her husband work another seven years for her sister. She might have felt less valuable than her sister.

Jacob values Rachel more than Leah.
Genesis 33:1-2 NIV

Jacob looked up and there was Esau, coming with his four hundred men; so he divided the children among Leah, Rachel and the two female servants. He put the female servants and their children in front, Leah and her children next, and Rachel and Joseph in the rear.
Here Jacob had no idea how Esau was going to respond when he saw him. He didn’t know if Esau would kill him or his family. So he put them in a sort of pecking order of importance. If Esau decided to kill them, he first would have gotten to the servants,then Leah, and them Rachel and Joseph. Here Leah had to once again sense that Rachel was more valuable than her.

Ironically God shows Leah that she is valuable

Genisis 49:29-31-29 Then he gave them these instructions: “I am about to be gathered to my people. Bury me with my fathers in the cave in the field of Ephron the Hittite, 30 the cave in the field of Machpelah, near Mamre in Canaan, which Abraham bought along with the field as a burial place from Ephron the Hittite. 31 There Abraham and his wife Sarah were buried, there Isaac and his wife Rebekah were buried, and there I buried Leah. 32 The field and the cave in it were bought from the Hittites.
These are the instructions that Jacob gave his sons in reference to his burial. The funny thing here is that Leah was buried with Abraham, Sarah, Issac, Rebekah, and Jacob her husbands and all the patriarchs. While Rachel, Jacobs first love was buried all alone in Bethlehem.

Levi the murder
Genesis 34:25-26 NIV

Three days later, while all of them were still in pain, two of Jacob’s sons, Simeon and Levi, Dinah’s brothers, took their swords and attacked the unsuspecting city, killing every male. They put Hamor and his son Shechem to the sword and took Dinah from Shechem’s house and left.

Levi’s descendants are given a huge responsibility even though he messed up in the past.

Numbers 1:49-51 NIV
“You must not count the tribe of Levi or include them in the census of the other Israelites. Instead, appoint the Levites to be in charge of the tabernacle of the covenant law—over all its furnishings and everything belonging to it. They are to carry the tabernacle and all its furnishings; they are to take care of it and encamp around it. Whenever the tabernacle is to move, the Levites are to take it down, and whenever the tabernacle is to be set up, the Levites shall do it. Anyone else who approaches it is to be put to death.

This should be encouraging to all of us because, no matter what has happened in our families past. God still can use us to do great things in him if we allow him to.

This thought came to my mind the other day. We were born into a world of sin. And because of that God could have just allowed all of us to go to hell when we die. But because he love us he has given us an opportunity to live with him forever in eternity. God has actually allowed us to pick our own eternal destination. So no one can blame God if they don’t make to heaven. So remember if it wasn’t for the opportunity he has given us all with his grace. We would all be going to hell anyway. Just ask the rich man in the book of Luke.

If your watching this or reading this and you have not accepted Christ into your life, what are you waiting for? Here is your opportunity now. Say a prayer like this. Dear God in heaven, I come to you in the name of Jesus. I acknowledge to You that I am a sinner, and I am sorry for my sins and the life that I have lived; I need your forgiveness, I believe that your only begotten Son Jesus Christ shed His precious blood on the cross at Calvary and died for my sins, and I am now willing to turn from my sin. You said in Your Holy Word, Romans 10:9 that if we confess the Lord our God and believe in our hearts that God raised Jesus from the dead, we shall be saved. Right now I confess Jesus as the Lord of my soul. With my heart, I believe that God raised Jesus from the dead. This very moment I accept Jesus Christ as my own personal Savior and according to His Word, now I am saved. Thank you Jesus for your unlimited grace which has saved me from my sins. I thank you Jesus that your grace never leads to license, but rather it always leads to repentance. Therefore Lord Jesus transform my life so that I may bring glory and honor to you alone and not to myself. Thank you Jesus for dying for me and giving me eternal life. I pray that you come into my heart as my Lord and Saviour, in Jesus name Amen!!!

Once you have accepted Christ as your Lord and Saviour, always remember that nothing can every separate us from the love of Christ.

Romans 8:38-39- For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither present nor the future, nor any powers,neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

If you believe this has been a blessing to you. Please share it with others who you think it may bless. Also if you accepted Christ for the first time I would love for you to leave a comment or if you would like to share a testimony leave it in the comment box. I would love to share your story. And if you want to just leave a comment of encouragement please do. You probably could sense a little nervousness in the video. God Bless!!!!

Leave a Reply

