STOP TAKING MY BLESSINGS


Have you ever had a situation were someone took something that you felt was rightfully yours? What ever it was you just knew it was supposed to go to you but instead it went to someone else? I can remember a time growing up as a kid when I was promised a train set from a family member only for that family member to decide to give it to my younger sibling instead. I can remember exactly how I felt at that moment. I was angry and disappointed at the same time watching my sibling enjoy what was supposed to be mine. I can remember a time as an adult at work being promised a high performance vehicle only for that vehicle to go to another co-worker after being told numerous times that when it was available it would be mine. In both situations I felt that same way. I’m sure someone reading this may have experienced something similar to this. It could have been a promotion on a job you thought you would receive only to have someone else get the promotion. It could have been buying that dream house that you wanted only for someone else to beat you to it first. What ever it may be I’m sure we all have experienced something like that. I would like to share a story with you in the bible that relates to the same type of situation we might have experienced. It’s the story of Jacob and Esau.

Genesis 27:30-36: 30 After Isaac finished blessing him, and Jacob had scarcely left his father’s presence, his brother Esau came in from hunting. 31 He too prepared some tasty food and brought it to his father. Then he said to him, “My father, please sit up and eat some of my game, so that you may give me your blessing.”32 His father Isaac asked him, “Who are you?” “I am your son,” he answered, “your firstborn, Esau.”33 Isaac trembled violently and said, “Who was it, then, that hunted game and brought it to me? I ate it just before you came and I blessed him—and indeed he will be blessed!” 34 When Esau heard his father’s words, he burst out with a loud and bitter cry and said to his father, “Bless me—me too, my father!”35 But he said, “Your brother came deceitfully and took your blessing.” 36 Esau said, “Isn’t he rightly named Jacob? This is the second time he has taken advantage of me: He took my birthright, and now he’s taken my blessing!” Then he asked, “Haven’t you reserved any blessing for me?”

Wow deep right? It had to hurt to be told that there is nothing left for you. Now reread verse 34. We can see how much pain this caused Esau. In some way we all can relate to this feeling. So now lets take that and look at our own lives. God promises us so many things in our lives but we miss them all the time. Why? Because of the way we live our lives putting him (God)on the back burner. Every other thing get our time but he doesn’t. Our favorite Television shows get an hour of our time shows like Scandal/Real House Wives/Anderson Cooper/Hannibal and so on but God can’t get 5 minutes. Not willing to submit our entire lives to him missing out on our blessings. Now here is an interesting question? So what happens to our blessings? Satan takes them away from us just like Jacob took Esau’s blessing. Just like Esau we look confused after freely giving it away. Lets take a look at one last verse. 41 Esau held a grudge against Jacob because of the blessing his father had given him. He said to himself, “The days of mourning for my father are near; then I will kill my brother Jacob.”

Wow!!! Like Esau at what point will we really get fed up and stop letting Satan steal what rightfully belong to us? At what point will we tell Satan that we have had enough and that we are going to take back what he has stolen from us?

Lord I pray that we stand up and get so fed up with Satan that we take back from Satan all the things you promised us that rightfully belong to us. I also pray that if someone who reads this blog doesn’t have a relationship with you, that they ask you to forgive them of their sins and confess with their mouth that you are Lord and believe in their heart that God raised you from the dead and that they be saved in Jesus name I pray Amen.

Blessings of the lordBlessings that come

One thought on “STOP TAKING MY BLESSINGS

  1. Pingback: BITTER PILLS - Daily Word

Leave a Reply

