THE BONDAGE OF UNFORGIVENESS


One of the hardest things for people to do it seems for some reason is to forgive. As I think about my life experiences and experiences of others I know. It truly seems to me that it really comes down to the point of being vulnerable. For some reason we feel like if we drop our guard then we are the weaker person. But in reality we are showing those that we forgive that we are a strong person. When we choose not to forgive we without realizing it only hurt ourselves. I have seen in my family unforgiveness cause physical pain because of the stress it takes to be unforgiving. Unforgiveness causes physical stress that can harm our own bodies. I am forever reminded though how important it is to forgive. I can remember what I was thinking while disagreeing with one of my love ones . I remember thinking, this time I will not be the one apologizing first or forgiving first. Then I heard God clearly say to me, If you love me like you say you do, then you would forgive them for me. I clearly heard him say that this is for you not for them. That really made me think about somethings. So how important is it really for us to forgive others? Well lets take a look together and see the impact it can have on us if we choose not to.

God says in Matthew 6:14-15, 14 “For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. 15 But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins”. So in other words, what he is saying is that if you refuse to forgive others, then he will not forgive you of all the things that you do daily. I’m sure we would all hope to receive forgiveness from God for all of our wrong doings. Then we also should be willing to forgive others like God forgives us. It doesn’t matter to God how many times they wrong us when they seek our forgiveness we are to forgive them every time. Matthew 18:21-22, 21 Then Peter came to Jesus and asked, “Lord, how many times shall I forgive my brother or sister who sins against me? Up to seven times?” 22 Jesus answered, “I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times.” Don’t let your unforgiveness, keep you in bondage, and cause your (prayers to be hindered, because of an unforgiving heart). Mark 11:25, 25 And when you stand praying, if you hold anything against anyone, forgive them, so that your Father in heaven may forgive you your sins.” So lets us strive to be like apostle Paul. Philippians 3:13-14,13 Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Just remember how much energy it takes to be angry and unforgiving, than it does to have peace from the spirit of forgiveness. I encourage everyone today that may be having a hard time forgiving someone who have wrong them or if you have wrong someone and have not asked for their forgiveness please do so today. This allows you to release yourself from that bondage not knowing if you have the rest of the day, or even tomorrow to forgive them or receive their forgiveness. Today or tomorrow is not promised to either of us. So let us not wait until a funeral to seek forgiveness or to let them know then when they can no longer hear us. There is a saying Only The Strong Survives, but I say today that Only The Strong, The Wise, and Mature can Forgive.
Image

4 thoughts on “THE BONDAGE OF UNFORGIVENESS

  1. Pingback: When an Apology Never Comes | unconditional love

  2. Pingback: When Others Wrong You | Cindy Holman

  3. Pingback: “Hold On to Your Faith!” By Pastor Reba Rambo-McGuire (The River At Music City) | Bummyla

  4. Pingback: Letting Go and Letting God | MomsterTeacher

Leave a Reply

