PRIORITY CHECKER!!! HOW ARE YOURS?


Nothing without the lordA thought came to my mind about how sometimes we get our priorities all wrong. I can remember a time earlier in my life when I had it all backwards. There was an item that I wanted that was fairly expensive and my wife was encouraging me not to buy it. The reason she was encouraging me not to purchase it was because it was not cost-effective at that time. Well being stubborn and not listening to her I purchased it anyway. In the long run me purchasing that item in the end caused me more problems than it would have if I would have prioritized better. Now prioritizing can come in all different types of forms. It could be with relationships,careers,finances and so on. I would like to take this to another level though and give you a couple of examples of some situations you may have experienced or can relate to.

In these examples I’m going to use the form of relationships and prioritizing. Think of these examples as a relationship you truly value. Lets say that your married but if you’re not married and have kids use them instead. If neither just imagine that you did. Imagine if your spouse or kids every day for 365 days out of the year, came home from work or school never speaking to you or acknowledging your presence. So through dinner and settling down time, they acted if you didn’t exist. How would you feel? You probably would feel hurt, sad and angry because you have an interest in their life. You want to know how their day went and how they were feeling.

Now here is another scenario. You desire to give your spouse, or kid a special gift, or something they truly desired. You either made it by hand or you bought it. When you see them with excitement you give them this gift, that they either asked for or you wanted them to have. So you give it to them and after they receive it, they just turn around and walk away with that gift. Never showing any gratitude or appreciation and never say thank you. As a spouse parent or even friend you probably would feel hurt,angry and sad. Why? Because they never showed you any appreciation for what you have done, not even a little thank you. I can only imagine how God feels, when we go 365 days out a year, without speaking to him letting him know how we are doing even if he already knows.

God is not looking for all of our time. But he is looking for some of our time. I can only imagine how Gods feels when he provides us a gift that we truly desire and we never say thank you or show him any appreciation. Just imagine how our father feels!! So how does our priorities get out of line. They get out of line when we focus so much on our careers and everything else around us. He gets push to the side for other things. Us not prioritizing correctly can cause us to delay or miss out on our inheritance.

Haggai 1:5-6-5- Now this is what the Lord Almighty says: “Give careful thought to your ways. 6 You have planted much, but harvested little. You eat, but never have enough. You drink, but never have your fill. You put on clothes, but are not warm. You earn wages, only to put them in a purse with holes in it.” Haggai 1:9-10 -9 “You expected much, but see, it turned out to be little. What you brought home, I blew away. Why?” declares the Lord Almighty. “Because of my house, which remains a ruin, while each of you is busy with your own house. 10 Therefore, because of you the heavens have withheld their dew and the earth its crops.

Here is an example of wrong priorities. Mark 12:41-44-17 As Jesus started on his way, a man ran up to him and fell on his knees before him. “Good teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit eternal life?” 18 “Why do you call me good?” Jesus answered. “No one is good—except God alone. 19 You know the commandments: ‘You shall not murder, you shall not commit adultery, you shall not steal, you shall not give false testimony, you shall not defraud, honor your father and mother. 20 “Teacher,” he declared, “all these I have kept since I was a boy.”21 Jesus looked at him and loved him. “One thing you lack,” he said. “Go, sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”22 At this the man’s face fell. He went away sad, because he had great wealth. 23 Jesus looked around and said to his disciples, “How hard it is for the rich to enter the kingdom of God!” 24 The disciples were amazed at his words. But Jesus said again, “Children, how hard it is to enter the kingdom of God! 25 It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for someone who is rich to enter the kingdom of God.”

Great priority-Mark 12:41-44-41 Jesus sat down opposite the place where the offerings were put and watched the crowd putting their money into the temple treasury. Many rich people threw in large amounts. 42 But a poor widow came and put in two very small copper coins, worth only a few cents. 43 Calling his disciples to him, Jesus said, “Truly I tell you, this poor widow has put more into the treasury than all the others. 44 They all gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything—all she had to live on.” So how is your priorities? I will leave you with a quote I love to share.

“No matter how great you or someone else may think you are, as a husband,father,son,friend,wife,mother,sister or title or position you may hold in your career etc. You will never reach your full potential in all the area’s of your life, if God is not your number 1 priority. It is until that moment, that you will be able to reach your full potential”. ~Michael J. McSellers~

I pray that as you go through this journey called life you prioritize what’s the most important thing in your life which is your relationship with Christ. If you have a relationship with the Lord in the end Jesus wins and because of that you also win.

I can’t miss this opportunity so if your reading this now and you don’t have a relationship with the Lord please don’t exit before doing so because Jesus wants to do something that you can’t do yourself and that is save you. If your willing to allow Jesus to become your personal savior say this prayer. Pray Lord I confess with my mouth that you are Lord and believe in my heart that you rose from the dead for my sins. I ask for forgiveness of my sins and ask that you come into my heart teaching me and guiding me in the way that I should live in Jesus name I pray Amen!!! If you said this prayer and you meant it from your heart you are now saved by the blood of Jesus!!

I encourage you to listen to the song below because it will bless you!!

Haggai




One thought on “PRIORITY CHECKER!!! HOW ARE YOURS?

  1. Reblogged this on McSellers Thought Of The Day and commented:

    Haggai 1:5-7 New International Version (NIV)

    5 Now this is what the Lord Almighty says: “Give careful thought to your ways. 6 You have planted much, but harvested little. You eat, but never have enough. You drink, but never have your fill. You put on clothes, but are not warm. You earn wages, only to put them in a purse with holes in it.” 7 This is what the Lord Almighty says: “Give careful thought to your ways.

    Like

Leave a Reply

