A PROMISE NEVER BROKEN


I remember growing up as a kid my father who didn’t live with me would call promising to take me out with him. I remember how I would feel when I looked at the clock and he never showed up. I would be sad and very disappointed. After awhile it became a normal feeling and I got use to it. I had a cousin who would call when I was little boy,saying that he would come and pick me up so that I could spend a night with him. Every time he called, I expected him to show up because he always did. So in both situations I was made a promise but the outcome were different. As I look at these two situations it makes me think about a father who never breaks his promise. Sometimes we delay the promise or sometimes we don’t receive the promise not because of anything he has done but sometimes it comes down to something we may have done. When God promises us something and we don’t receive that’s all on us and not on him. His word lets us know what his promises are and how we can receive the benefits from them.

2 Corinthians 1:20: For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ. And so through him the “Amen” is spoken by us to the glory of God.

Joshua 23:14: “Now I am about to go the way of all the earth. You know with all your heart and soul that not one of all the good promises the LORD your God gave you has failed. Every promise has been fulfilled; not one has failed.

Hebrews 13:5 Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

Matthew 6:31: So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ Matthew 6:33: But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

God promises to provide all that we need, but we have to be willing to accept and receive his promises. It’s so great to know that we have a father that we all can depend on. I will leave you with this verse, 2 Corinthians 7:1 Since we have these promises, dear friends, let us purify ourselves from everything that contaminates body and spirit, perfecting holiness out of reverence for God.

One thought on “A PROMISE NEVER BROKEN

Leave a Reply

