DO WE HAVE THE RIGHT TO WORRY, COMPLAIN OR BE CONTENT?


In today’s time there are so many things going on around us. There are many issues that are causing people to worry, complain and in some cases not to be content. What are people worrying about? Some people are worrying about the economy; some people are worried about their health care. These are the big issues that people are worrying about. These issues are affecting family’s everyday, causing marriages to crumble and tearing families apart. These can be very stressful situations for everyone involved. Then there are the small situations we worry about. I will share a personal story of my own.

It was the beginning of a new basketball season. My son decided that we would like to play for the local league basketball team. This was going to be his first time playing basketball and the league my son was playing was in a dire need of coaches for his age group. So I decided to fill out an application to be an assistant coach, not a head coach because I had never coach before. I of course was a little nervous with that, stepping out my comfort zone. Well for 2 months I didn’t hear anything back from the league so I figured that they didn’t need me. The league had evaluation night for everyone who was signed up to play in the league. Well on the night of my sons evaluation night, I found out that I would be the head coach of his team and not an assistant coach. I was stunned because I was never notified and because of my work schedule I would have to get approval from my employer. On top of that I never coached before and had no clue how to run a practice.

So I explained that to the league president and he informed me that he had no on else that could fill that position. So I said ok, full of stress and worrying trying to figure out how this was going to work out. Well I will tell you how it worked out in short form. When I informed my job they said they would work with me and I was like really. When I went to the draft to pick our players, I got the first pick. When it was time for me to pick my practice schedule, I got the schedule that I wanted. When I began to worry about not making every game, do to the game schedule and my work schedule conflicting; well let’s just say when I finally received the game schedule all the games were after my working hours. Let’s just say God had already known this was going to work out the whole time. This story is a short testimony, but even in more serious situations like above God says don’t worry. If your dealing with worry or your having trouble being content, causing you to complain. I pray that these verses below can help you the same way they helped me.

In Exodus 16: 2-3 the Israelites worried and complained. “In the desert the whole community grumbled against Moses and Aaron. The Israelites said to them, “If only we had died by the Lord’s hand in Egypt!” There we sat around pots of meat and ate all the food we wanted, but you have brought us out into this desert to starve this entire assembly to death.” Even with their complaints God still provided away for them. God encourages us to remain content with what we have, and not to complain about the things we don’t have. He just wants us to trust in him, believing that he will do what he says he will do. Here are some verses that I will leave with you to reassure you!!!

Matthew 6:25/27-“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; of about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? 27-“Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

Philippians 4:12-“I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength.” I will leave you with this powerful verse.
Hebrews 13:5-“Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

Leave a Reply

